Skip to content

Week in Review- Week 19

June 12, 2008

Man, I’m getting later and later in writing my weekly reviews and posting my weekly training plans.  Pretty soon I’m going to be an entire month behind if I’m not careful.

Last week felt great – lots of biking, and the best swim workout I’ve had all year.  I forgot to mention that I’ve been swimming once a week with the Flying Carps, a master’s team here in Chicago.  Bob, the coach, completely changed my entire stroke, from entry to recovery to kick, and at first I felt like a cat thrashing in the bathtub as opposed to a long, graceful, efficient swimmer.  But after two weeks the stroke began to feel really natural and I noticed a huge change in my swimming.  I’m faster, more efficient, and less fatigued.  Exactly what you want out of your swim stroke!  I have a race distance swim in Lake Michigan on Thursday this week so I’ll let you know how the stroke fairs in the open water

I also got in a run on Sunday.  I planned on going down to the lake and back, and ended up doing exactly that, except that about a mile into my return I got soaked by a monsoon-like thunderstorm.  I huddled in a bus stop trying to keep warm, but it took a good 20 or 30 minutes for the storm to pass and at that point my IT band had no interest in running much further.  I run/walked the remaining 3 miles back to my house, so I only included the first hour of continuous running as part of the workout.

  • Mon -Bikram, 1:30
  • Tue – Track Clinic, 2:30
  • Wed – Swim, 1:00
  • Thurs – TRACK RACE!
  • Fri – Swim, 1:15
  • Sat – Bike, 3:45 (60 miles)
  • Sun -Run, 1:00 (interrupted by a monsoon)

Total: 10:00 + Race!

  • Swim: 2:15
  • Bike: 6:15 + Race!
  • Run: 1:00
  • Strength/Stretch: 1:30
2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2008 5:59 pm

    My HIM is 8/24 – when is your’s? This training is starting to stress me out!

  2. Michelle permalink*
    June 13, 2008 10:52 am

    8/2!

    I’ll be doing Chicago on 8/24 (olympic distance) and I’ll be thinking of you! I think your training is stressing you out because you do so damn much of it! If I were training 3 hours a day I’d be stressed out too – of course, the alternate is feeling as if you haven’t prepared well enough, and that’s stressful in and of itself. Ah, the joys of triathlon!

Leave a comment